1. K-State home
  2. »Communications
  3. »About Us
  4. »Honors and awards

Communications and Agricultural Education

Communications and Agricultural Education

Kansas State University
1612 Claflin Road
301 Umberger Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-3402

785-532-5633 fax

Honors and Awards

Our students, faculty, and staff have been honored for their academic work as well as in some of their professional endeavors in advising, teaching, conducting research, publishing, graphic design, news and feature production in multiple media, information systems management, technology support, and printing and distributing educational materials.

2021 Award Recipients


    • Katelyn Harbert, Agricultural Communications and Journalism, 2021 outstanding senior
    • John Kennedy, Agricultural Education, 2021 outstanding senior

2017 Award Recipients


    • The Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow club earned several awards at this year's Agricultural Media Summit. They were named chapter of the year in the membership, leadership and community categories.  Topping the list of awards was being named this year's overall outstanding chapter. Audrey King is the adviser. 


    • Topanga McBride won the 2017 Forrest Bassford Student award from the Livestock Publications Council. Three of the four finalists who received travel scholarships to attend the Ag Media Summit this year were from K-State. Jill Seiler and Taylor Matheny were the other two K-State finalists. 
    • Jackie Newland, won the Dr. Evans Presidential Scholarship from the American Agricultural Editors' Association. Newland and Audrey Schmitz were two of the four scholarship finalists.
    • The Agriculturist won first place for the Award of Excellence for publication in the Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow national contest.  Lisa Moser is the advisor. The students on the leadership team for the fall 2016 magazine are Melissa Grimmel Schaake, editor; Audrey Schmitz, associate editor; Lindsey Ashmore, assistant editor; and Marie Annexstad, advertising manager. 
    • Cassie Wandersee, 2016 Master graduate, was presented with this year’s outstanding thesis award for her paper, “An Audience Focused Approach to Framing Climate Change Communication in Agriculture”.
    • Katelyn Bohnenblust, Clay Center, received the 2017 Marjorie J. & Richard L.D. Morse Family and Community Public Policy Scholarship from K-State Libraries. The $3,000 scholarship supports an undergraduate project involving community service and potentially impacting public policy.


    • Elaine Johannes, Associate Professor, Family Studies and Human Service, Communicator of the Year

Professional Staff

    • Rick Butler, Graphic Designer, Employee of the Year, University Support Staff
    • Phylicia Mau, Graphic Designer, Employee of the Year, Unclassified