1. K-State home
  2. »Communications
  3. »About Us
  4. »Honors and awards
  5. »Communicator of the Year

Communications and Agricultural Education

Communications and Agricultural Education

Kansas State University
1612 Claflin Road
301 Umberger Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-3402

785-532-5633 fax

Communicator of the Year

The Communicator of the Year is given to a subject-matter specialist, agent, or researcher who extends the work of K-State Research and Extension through exemplary communication skills. The award recognizes communication skills that facilitate delivery of K-State Research and Extension programs and the building of successful collaborations within the organization, county, region, state, and nation. The award is presented during the annual conference awards luncheon.

Past Recipients

2017 - Elaine Johannes, Associate Professor, Family Studies and Human Service

2016 — Frannie Miller, Integrated Pest Management Coordinator, Entomology

2015 — Erick DeWolf, Interim Department Head and Professor, Plant Pathology

2014 — Daniel O'Brien, Associate Professor and Agricultural Economist, Northwest Area Extension Office

2013 — Alan Stevens, Associate Professor, Horticulture, Forestry and Recreation Resources

2012 — Cheryl Boyer, Assistant Professor, Horticulture, Forestry and Recreation Resources 

2011 — Dennis Patton, Extension Agent, Johnson County

2010 — Ward Upham, Director of Rapid Response Center, Horticulture, Forestry and Recreation Resources

2009 — Karen Blakeslee, Director of Rapid Response Center, Animal Sciences and Industry

2008 — Jim Shroyer, Professor, Agronomy

2007 — Stacie Minson, Watershed Specialist, Kansas Center for Agricultural Resources and the Environment (KCARE)

2006 — Linda (Walter) Beech, Extension Agent, Ellis County

2005 — Charlotte Shoup Olsen, Professor, Family Studies and Human Services

2004 — Chuck Marr,  Emeritus Professor, Horticulture, Forestry and Recreation Resources 

For more information, contact Linda Gilmore, 785-532-1153, lindagi@ksu.edu.