Grain Science Honors Alumni, Service to Industry

Close ties with K-State alumni and industry partners around the world enhance the educational experience for students in K-State's Department of Grain Science and Industry. To acknowledge those successful partnerships, the department recognized alumni, faculty, and industry leaders.

Four outstanding alumni were honored for their professional achievements: Hamed Faridi (MS '74 food science, PhD '75 grain science) leads a global team of scientists and flavorists for McCormick and developed the McCormick Science Institute to promote the health benefits of culinary spices and herbs.

Justin Gilpin (BS '98 milling science and management) serves as CEO of Kansas Wheat and chairman of Heartland Plant Innovations and is on the Wheat Quality Council board of directors.

Fengcheng Wang (MS '97 biological and agricultural engineering, PhD '01 grain science) is a professor of cereal science and technology and former dean at Henan University of Technology; serves as director of the Research Center for Cereal, Oil, and Food of the State Grain Administration of China; and director of the National Engineering Technology Research Center for Cereal Processing and Equipment, China.

Evangelina Villegas (MS '63 milling science and management) whose career includes evaluating wheat varieties for Norman Borlaug, conducting research at the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center, and serving as a maize and wheat quality consultant for national research programs throughout Latin America, Africa, and Asia. She was the first woman to receive the World Food Prize.

Service awards were presented to:

Brothers Ross Holton (BS '74 bakery science and management), president, and John Holton, executive vice president of Holton Food Products, which manufactures stabilizers and dry ingredients for commercial bakeries.

Ron Madl, former director of K-State's Bioprocessing and Industrial Value Added Program. He came to Manhattan in 1997 as director of the Wheat Research Center, where he helped introduce hard white wheat to the Central Plains.

Keith Behnke, Fred Fairchild, Huseyin Dogan, Lakshmikantha Channaiah, Terry Gugle, Adam Fahrenholz, Anita McDiffett, and Kim Schirer were recognized for their collaborative and individual efforts in planning and development of the O.H. Kruse Feed Technology Innovation Center, which will be dedicated in October 2013.

For more information, see http://www.grains.k-state.edu/.